Services
Corporate Health Solutions
Locations
Health Corner
About Us

|

Public Health Issues

DH to launch Colorectal Cancer Screening Pilot Programme in September tentatively

(Source: Depatment of Health)

To combat Hong Kong’s most common cancer, colorectal cancer, the Department of Health (DH) will tentatively launch in September this year a screening programme under which eligible Hong Kong residents aged between 61 and 70 will be invited in batches to undergo screening tests over a three-year pilot period.

The target group of the screening programme is Hong Kong residents born in 1946 to 1955, i.e. aged between 61 and 70 in the year 2016. To assist the smooth operation of the programme they will be invited to receive screening in batches, with those born from 1946 to 1948 as the first cohort for participation beginning this September tentatively. Arrangements for those born between 1949 and 1955 will be announced in due course. It is expected that some 300,000 attendances will undergo screening during the three-year pilot period.

She noted that the screening programme would adopt the Faecal Immunochemical Test (FIT), a new version of faecal occult blood test, as the screening tool. FIT is a safe and effective screening test as indicated by local and overseas experience. It is simple to implement for a large number of participants and evidence has shown that it can reduce colorectal cancer mortality by 15 to 33 per cent.

The screening pathway will comprise two stages. Eligible persons will first visit a Primary Care Doctor (PCD) participating in the Pilot Programme, and enroll into the screening programme. They then receive a government subsidy to undergo FIT as the first line screening test. If the FIT result is positive, the PCD will then advise the participant to undergo colonoscopy assessment to find out the cause of bleeding. Polyps found will be removed to confirm or exclude the presence of cancer. The participant may visit any Colonoscopy Specialist (CS) of choice who has enrolled in the Pilot Programme.

The whole process will be heavily subsidised by the Government to encourage the public to participate and go through the screening pathway. The Government will provide the subsidy for the FIT screening offered by the enrolled PCD and the specified scope of colonoscopy services provided by the enrolled CS for individuals with a positive FIT result.

Dr Ching said, “The subsidy amount for each consultation at the enrolled PCD’s clinic is $280, which should generally be sufficient so that the participant may not need to make an additional payment.

“As for colonoscopy assessment, the Government subsidy would be $7800 or $8500 for the defined scope of services depending on whether colonic polyp(s) are found and removed. We understand that some enrolled CS, on top of the government subsidy, may charge more for various reasons. There will be a cap of $1000 for this copayment amount in order not to deter participants with a positive FIT result from receiving colonoscopy services.”

醫療保健服務
企業醫療保健計劃
服務網絡
健康資訊
投資者關係
關於我們

EN |

公共衛生議題

衞生署預計九月推出大腸癌篩查先導計劃

(資料來源:衛生署)

為對抗香港頭號癌症 - 大腸癌,衞生署預計於今年九月推出大腸癌篩查先導計劃,邀請年齡介乎61至70歲的合資格香港居民在三年內分批接受大腸癌篩查。

先導計劃會邀請於一九四六至一九五五年出生(即於二零一六年內年齡介乎61至70歲)的合資格香港居民接受篩查。為了計劃能夠暢順運作,他們將會分批接受測試,首批人士於一九四六至一九四八年出生,他們暫定於九月參與計劃,至於一九四九至一九五五年出生的參加者的安排會容後公布。衞生署預計為期三年的先導計劃將有30萬參加人次。

她表示,先導計劃會採用大便免疫化學測試(一種較新的大便隱血測試) 為篩查方法。本地及海外經驗顯示這是一項安全有效的篩查測試,簡單易用,方便應用於眾多參加人士,同時有證據顯示它可以減低大腸癌死亡率達15至33%。

整項篩查分兩個階段。合資格人士會首先約見參與先導計劃的基層醫療醫生,並報名參加計劃,隨後接受資助進行首階段的大便免疫化學測試。如果測試結果呈陽性,基層醫療醫生會建議該參加者接受大腸鏡檢查,以找出大便帶隱血的原因。若發現瘜肉的話,它會被切除,以確定是否出現病變。參加者可以選擇由參與先導計劃的專科醫生進行大腸鏡檢查。

整個程序將獲得政府大幅資助以鼓勵市民參加先導計劃和完成整個篩查程序。政府會資助參加者接受由已登記的基層醫療醫生提供的大便免疫化學測試服務,亦會資助測試呈陽性結果的人士接受已登記的專科醫生提供指定的大腸鏡檢查服務。

程醫生說:「參加者在已登記基層醫療醫生接受服務每次會得到政府資助$280,金額一般足以繳付有關費用,參加者可能毋須再付出額外費用。」

「至於大腸鏡檢查,視乎檢查過程有沒有發現及切除瘜肉,政府會為指定範圍內的服務提供分別$7800和$8500的資助。我們理解部分提供大腸鏡檢查服務的專科醫生可能基於某些原因在政府資助金額以上收取額外費用,但額外收費不得超出$1000,以免令大便免疫化學測試結果呈陽性的參加者對接受大腸鏡檢查卻步。」


//