Services
Corporate Health Solutions
Locations
Health Corner
About Us

|

Health Assessment Information

Your body is the best indicator of your health status – you can generally feel for yourself when something is wrong. But in some cases, there may be no obvious signs and symptoms, yet some problem can be silently developing inside you.

A health assessment is the simplest and easiest way to detect if we carry any risk factors for diseases. Early detection through a health assessment allows for prompt medical intervention to treat or cure any disease detected. 

Before having your health assessment, the following guidelines will help you better understand the specific preparation required for some tests. Take a look before your appointment. For any examination not listed here, you are most welcome to call our Health Assessment Centres for details.

Preparation Guidelines for Health Assessment

General Preparation Guidelines for Health Assessment

  • Eight hours of fasting will be required should your assessment programme include diabetic screening, lipid profile screening or abdominal ultrasound imaging. Your checkup centre will advise you in advance should fasting be required for any other tests. Alternatively, you may confirm this with the checkup centre prior to the examination date.
  • If you are currently using any medication, please continue to use it but inform the clinic staff when you attend for the checkup.
  • Please reschedule the assessment if you are feeling unwell on the day of the examination. Where possible, contact UMP Medical Centre at least one working day in advance if cancellation or changing of your appointment is necessary.
  • If your assessment includes a stool exam, please bring along a stool specimen on the day of your assessment; any clean container with a secure lid will do, or you may pick up a container in advance from any of our Medical Centres. Please provide your urine sample at the Medical Centre on the examination day; a special container will be provided for this.

Special Attention for Female Examinees

  • Pregnant women should not undergo any imaging which involves radiation emission (e.g. X-ray). 
  • Please do not schedule your appointment during your menstrual period if your checkup program includes a pap test or urine test. You are advised to arrange your examination 2 weeks before or after menstruation.

NOTE

  • Preparation varies depending on the tests to be conducted. Please inform our staff when you arrange your booking should you intend to undergo any optional check(s) during your assessment. Our staff will remind you of any special preparation which may be required.
Preparation Guidelines for Special Examination

 

Examination procedureWhy and how the procedure is donePreparation required
1. Treadmill Exercise ECG To evaluate how the heart responds to the demands of physical activity. To detect some heart conditions which cannot be detected under resting conditions. A resting ECG is included before the test for screening heart conductivity and rhythm abnormality. Bring along or wear a pair of running shoes and sports attire for the test.
2. Upper Abdominal Ultrasound By means of reflecting high-frequency sound waves to produce a picture of organs in the upper abdomen – such as liver, gallbladder, spleen, pancreas and kidneys – to detect abnormalities in any of these organs. Minimum of 6 hours fasting prior to the examination is required.
3. Colonoscopy This is a procedure that uses a thin, flexible endoscope with a built-in camera attached to check for abnormalities or disease in your lower intestine or colon. During a colonoscopy, the doctor may also take tissue samples for biopsy. He or she may also remove abnormal tissue such as polyps. Either a low-residue or full liquids diet is recommended for the 3-4 days before the examination. Special medication and other preparation may be required; please consult doctor / clinic in advance. As a sedative is used during the test, the examinee is suggested to have someone to accompany them home after the procedure.
4. DEXA (Dual Energy X-ray Absorptiometry) – Spine & Hip Two X-ray beams with different energy levels are used to determine the bone density. This is widely used to diagnose and follow up osteoporosis. Individuals with relevant risk factors, especially menopausal women, are susceptible to bone mass loss and recommended for DEXA screening. No special preparation is required.
5. Mammography Using low dose x-rays as a diagnostic and screening tool for early detection of breast cancer, typically through detection of characteristic masses and/or microcalcifications. Do not use any deodorant, perfume, talcum powder, or ointments on your breasts. Please bring along your previous mammogram film (if any) for the doctor’s reference.
6. Breasts Ultrasound By using high frequency-sound waves to help in determining if any abnormality shown in a mammogram is solid or fluid-filled in nature. It can also help show additional features of the abnormal area. It also helps distinguish between cysts and solid masses. Do not use any deodorant, perfume, talcum powders, or ointments on your breasts when attending for the procedure.
7. Pelvic Ultrasound By using high-frequency sound waves to construct images of the organs and structures in the pelvis including the ovaries, uterus, cervix, fallopian tubes and bladder of women. It detects any abnormalities or pathologies such as ovarian cysts or uterine fibroids in these structures. You will be asked to drink 4 to 6 glasses of water about an hour before the scan to fill your bladder. A full bladder pushes the intestines (which contain air) out of the way from the pelvic organs. It is important to show all the required images.
8. Pap Smear By opening the vaginal canal with a speculum and collecting cells from the outer opening of the cervix of the uterus and the endocervix. It is used to detect potentially pre-cancerous and cancerous processes in the endocervical canal of the female reproductive system. Your menstruation will affect the accuracy of the test. It is recommended to undertake this exam 2 weeks before or after menstruation.
9. Lung Function Test The test determines how much air your lungs can hold and how quickly you can move air in and out of your lungs. It can help to diagnose lung diseases, measure the severity of lung problems, and check to see how well treatment for a lung disease is working. No special preparation is involved. Individuals suffering from infectious respiratory disease should consult their doctor first.

醫療保健服務
企業醫療保健計劃
服務網絡
健康資訊
投資者關係
關於我們

EN |

體格健康檢查資訊

身體出現的各種徵狀能反映您的健康狀況,在出現問題時,您可能感受得到。不過,有時也沒有任何明顯的病徵,但問題已可能在體內慢慢惡化。

體格健康檢查是最簡單容易的方法評估我們會否患上某種疾病及其風險。透過健康檢查,我們能及早診斷和作出適當的治療。

在您進行健康檢查之前,請閱讀以下的注意事項。若未能找到相關的檢查項目,歡迎致電我們的體格健康檢查中心查詢。

準備體格健康檢查的注意事項

體格健康檢查的注意事項

  • 若需進行糖尿病檢查、血脂檢查或腹部超聲波掃描,您需要在八小時前禁食。若其他測試也需要禁食,檢查中心會事先作出通知。您亦可以在檢查前與中心確認是否需要禁食。
  • 若您目前正使用任何藥物,請繼續服用,但在檢查時請告知診所職員。
  • 如在檢查當天感到不適,請重新安排檢查時間。如需取消或更改檢查日期,請至少一天前與中心聯絡。
  • 如需進行大便檢查,請於檢查當天攜同大便樣本。樣本需以乾淨的容器盛載及蓋好,您亦可事先到我們的檢查中心拿取容器。小便樣本可於檢查當天提交,檢查中心會為您提供適合的容器。

女仕需特別注意的事項

  • 懷孕婦女不應進行任何放射性的檢查 (例如X光)。
  • 如果您的檢查計劃包含子宮頸抹片檢查或尿液測試,請勿在行經期間安排體格健康檢查。建議您將檢查安排在經期前後兩周進行。

備注

  • 注意事項會因應不同檢查而有所不同,如您希望進行其他附加檢查項目,請在預約時通知我們的診所職員,他們會提供相關的準備或注意事項。
特別檢查項目所需的注意事項
檢查項目檢查目的及進行方法準備事項
1. 運動心電圖 評估心臟在運動時的反應。檢查能測試在靜止狀態下無法察覺的心臟問題。靜態心電圖亦已包括在此檢查內以檢測心臟傳導性和心律情況。 請帶備運動服及運服鞋進行測試。
2. 上腹腔超聲波掃描 透過高頻率聲波反射而產生之影像,以檢查上腹部器官有否出現異常,如肝、膽、胰、脾和腎。 檢查前至少6小時需要禁食。
3. 大腸內窺鏡檢查 此檢查使用幼小的內置攝影機檢查大腸有否出現異常或病變。

在進行大腸內窺鏡檢查時,醫生或許會取下組織樣本或移除異常組織,例如瘜肉。
檢查前3-4天維持低纖維或全流質飲食。此檢查可能需要服用特殊藥物或其他事前準備;請事先與醫生或診所聯絡。由於檢查時會使用鎮定劑,建議受檢者完成檢查後由友人陪伴回家。
4. 雙能量X光骨質密度測量儀 – 脊椎及臀部 利用雙X光來評估骨質密度。建議有相關風險的人士,特別是容易患上骨質疏鬆症的更年期女性進行此項檢查。 毋須任何特別準備。
5. 乳房X光造影 這是使用低量的X光作診斷與檢測早期乳癌的工具,並檢測有否出現特殊硬塊及或乳房鈣化的情況。 請勿使用任何止汗劑、香水,滑石粉或乳膏。如曾進行乳房X光造影檢查,請帶同過往的的X光片以供醫生參考。
6. 乳房超聲波掃描 以高頻聲波協助分辨乳房囊腫和硬塊。這也能協助顯示其他腹腔的異常狀況。 請勿使用任何止汗劑、香水,滑石粉或乳膏。
7. 盆腔超聲波掃描 使用高頻聲波顯示盆腔內的器官和組織結構的影像,包括卵巢、子宮、子宮頸,輸卵管及膀胱,此檢查可偵測任何異常或病變,如卵巢囊腫或子宮肌瘤。 掃描前需飲用4-6杯水使膀胱脹滿,使超聲波能清楚掃描盆腔內的器官。
8. 柏氏抹片子宮頸檢查 使用視診器來打開陰道,並取下於子宮外部開口和子宮頸內膜的細胞,以檢測子宮頸癌或其癌前病變。 行經期間進行項檢查會影響測試結果的準確性,建議在經期前後兩週進行此檢查。
9. 肺功能測試 本測試是用來判斷您的肺部呼吸氣流量。這能幫助診斷肺部問題及其功能,並了解肺病治療的成效。 無需任何特殊準備。患有傳染性呼吸系統疾病的人士應先向醫生查詢。

//